What Is It
Handgun Qualification License training, required by the Maryland Law, includes classroom instruction on State firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a live-fire exercise.
Approved HQL training courses are offered by Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructors who have established an account through the Maryland State Police e-gov site.
Training is valid for 3 years and must be completed prior to submitting an application for a Handgun Qualification License.
Duration & Cost
Duration – Minimum 4 hours
Cost, including gun rent & ammo) = $150
A non-refundable $50.00 deposit is required to reserve your space in class.
Balance of $100 is due before the date of the class.
If you own a regulated firearm prior to October 1, 2013, you must still apply for the Handgun Qualification License. However, you are exempt from the training component.
Click on the image below to register for the class.
If you already registered and want to pay the remaining class balance, choose the option below.
Maryland HQL Class Balance$100.00
Maryland HQL Class Gift Certificate$150.00