Q. Do you offer the Maryland Handgun Qualification class required by the State Police?
A. Yes. We do offer Maryland HQL classes as required by the Maryland Firearms Safety Act of 2013 that went into effect October 1st.
Q. How often do you have Handgun Wear & Carry classes?
A. Handgun Wear & Carry classes are usually offered once every two months, depending on demand.
Q. What form of payment do you accept?
A. We accept Cash, Check, Credit Cards, and Money Orders.
Q. Do I need to make a reservation or can I just show up for the class?
A. You must make a reservation and post a $50 deposit to be in the class.
Q. If, for some reason, I am unable to come to the class, will you refund my deposit?
A. No. Deposit is non-refundable. However, you can reschedule for any class within one year. Your deposit can be used for the new class.
Q. What is the total cost of the class?
A. Most of the classes currently offered by the Maryland Gun Training Center costs $150 (including a $50 deposit). If you need to use the school’s firearms and ammo, you will have to pay an additional $25-$50 depending on the type of firearm and the shooting type required.
Maryland Handgun Wear & Carry License class costs $250 for the original application (16 hours) or $150 for the renewal (8 hours) class.
Maryland Handgun Qualification License (HQL) class costs $100, plus $30 cost of the use of school’s handguns and ammo.
Q. How can I reserve a seat in one of the classes?
A. Best way to make a reservation is by going to our webpage. There, on the page pertaining to the class of your choice, you will find a button “MAKE RESERVATION” Alternatively you can send a check or Money Order, with the note containing your name, address, phone number, email, and class preference to Maryland Gun Training Center, LLC. P. O. Box 1395, Owings Mills, MD 21117-9998.
Q. Do I need to have/purchase a firearm to take the class?
A. No. If you do not presently own a firearm we recommend taking a class before you purchase a gun. Additional $25-$35 cost is well justified by being able to handle and try different firearms. This experience will enable you to make an educated choice and avoid costly mistakes.
Q. What time and days classes are held?
A. Classes are held on weekends and start at 9:00 AM.
Q. Where are classes held?
A. Classes are held at the Marriottsville range of Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, at 11518 Marriottsville Rd, Marriottsville, MD 21104.
Or at IOTA Training Center @ Lafarge Quarry, 11410 Marriottsville Rd. Marriottsville, MD 21104
Q. Is there a shooting test in Maryland Handgun Wear & Carry class?
A. Yes. To receive a certified score sheet, which you will supply with your application, you must successfully pass a shooting test.
In accordance with the MSP requirements, the test you will take depends on whether you are a member of the security force or a civilian. The minimum score required to pass is 70% or better.
Q. Are there tests in NRA Basic Firearms classes?
A. Yes. Each NRA Basic Firearm class has a written, multiple-choice, open-book exam students must pass to be allowed to the shooting session.
Q. What is required to purchase a gun in the State of Maryland?
A. To buy a regulated firearm in Maryland one needs to present to an FFL dealer (Gun store) a picture ID proving Maryland residency and age (21 or older) along with your Handgun Qualification License (HQL). HQL is issued by the Maryland State Police. You will fill out several forms supplied by the FFL dealer which will be sent to Maryland State Police and FBI for a background investigation. Then, after 8 days waiting period, the dealer will receive your paperwork back. If authorities do not find any disqualifying factors, it will be stamped: “Not Disapproved”.
Q. Do I need to take an NRA Basic Pistol Shooting class to buy a handgun?
A. No. Minimum requirement in the state of Maryland is a 4 hours safety class with a shooting session, which you can take at our school.
There are following exceptions from this requirement:
- Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component
- Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police.
- Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction.
- Is currently a qualified handgun instructor.
- Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard.
- Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP.
- Lawfully owns a regulated firearm. If you already own a handgun or assault weapon prior to October 1, 2013, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License.
Q. What is the minimum age to take the class?
A. 12 to 15 years old can be admitted with the parent or legal guardian taking a class with him/her. Ages 15 to 18 must present a permission slip (available from http://www.mdguntraining.com/Documents/PermissionForMinor.pdf) signed by a parent or legal guardian.